RSS

I’m Getting Annoyed

07 Oct

With all this media hype and garbage I keep hearing about Romney’s dominating that debate, and Obama not really showing up.

I suppose that at some level there’s some truth to that.

But this is what I saw,……

I saw in Mitt Romney a man that’s been a consistent, chronic liar since I first heard him speak.

And I saw that chronic, compulsive liar in the debate that night doing the same thing he’s always done. Lie through his teeth in a very, very public forum. No qualms, no stage fright on a big platform,….. in fact I think the magnitude of the event pumped him up.

The difference that everyone seemed to think was exceptional, was that he was on his game. When in actuality he was just doing the usual,….. but doing it really well that night.

Try some of these …….

http://romneytheliar.blogspot.com/

In other words he lied more confidently and more emphaticly than usual.

Now, (from watching too, too many of the Sunday morning talking heads today), I hear a lot about Romney dominating, but not so much about the fact that it was all bullshit.

Which leads me to wonder just how much truth there is in this quote that I’ve seen a lot in the last few days,…… and hope that there’s not as much as there appears to be.

“‘You can say anything you want during a debate and 80 million people hear it,’observed Peter Teeley, press secretary to Vice President Bush. If reporters then document that a candidate spoke untruthfully, ‘so what? Maybe 200 people read it or 2,000 or 20,000.'” – New York Times, November 1, 1984

 
 

5 responses to “I’m Getting Annoyed

  1. drugsandotherthings

    October 7, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    No, you are right. Though I’ll admit, even I saw Romeny “winning” the debate. In high school fashion. The best dressed, most forceful, most charismatic kinda fashion.

    But he failed to do what he needed to do. Or, I’m afraid, once upon a time needed to do. Elucidate his ideas. Explain his “plans”.

    But in america 2.0 he did swell. And that, sadly, may be enough. As DeToquville said “people get the government they deserve”.

    And I would urge you to check out the ling to a TED talk, in my post here( http://goo.gl/LAsWa ) on the leadership of introverts. Because Obama IS an introvert. Not who american society traditionally sees as a “leader”. But often the people with the best ideas, and the best ability to move things forward..

     
    • h2dog

      October 8, 2012 at 8:22 am

      Drugs— first thing, sorry about the late reply. For some reason your comment went to the spam folder, 🙂 And I didn’t notice it.
      Yes,…. people will get what they deserve if they elect ANY republican. But unfortunately, that will only be some people. The ones that can least afford to see a republican in office will, as usual, get hammered. It will be a sad thing to witness.
      The wingnut right is the meanest, most self-interested pack of people in the country. Hard for me to believe that they exist in such numbers in this country,…. but they do. I have to accept it and deal with it.
      Obama is a conundrum. He’s personable, very intelligent and wellspoken, (which is why the conservatives hate him,… he’s their polar opposite), and I believe very much trying to make things better for the masses.
      But, as you say, not a people person, per se. And that comes across at times. And I do wish sometimes that he would be more forceful. When you deal with junkyard dogs like the republicans, there are times when you can’t play nice. Simple as that.
      I haven’t checked out the TED link yet, but I will.
      As an aside,… I wish more people were aware that the TED talks are out there. They don’t know what they’re missing.

       
  2. Chris

    October 7, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    Obama was trying to stay above the fray of BS that Romney was pushing, so he refused to respond to it directly, for the most part. But the problem with that strategy is that, by removing himself from the process, he created a void, and Romney was all to eager to fill it with even more BS. Obama needed to find a way to insert himself into the discussion in a better way, using his time to challenge those lies and to nudge Romney back into his own corner a bit more. People keep saying that it’s wrong to give Romney a win just for lying well enough, but maybe they’re not handing him a win for that, so much as they’re withholding a win from Obama for failing to defend the truth well enough.

     
  3. h2dog

    October 7, 2012 at 8:18 pm

    “but maybe they’re not handing him a win for that, so much as they’re withholding a win from Obama for failing to defend the truth well enough.”
    Wouldn’t be too hard to believe that Chris. I’m still a little stunned at how placid and detached Obama seemed to be.
    I’m telling myself that he was just constantly rolling his eyes internally saying to himself,….
    “What??? Again??? He’s still trying to push this stuff? ”
    My God, it’s got to be tiring hearing those lies repeated again and again.

     
  4. toph

    October 8, 2012 at 11:36 pm

    In my little world I hope/think O’s performance could be due to one of two things:

    1) He was dutifully following his ‘advisers’ to look presidential, etc, etc … but REALLY wanted to go after him – hence the sour face

    2) Maybe they were actually hoping Romney would spew the BS he did, and are hoping to hang him with it during the rest of the campaign.

    I have great hopes for the VP debate. Biden likes to debate and I think he can take Ryan apart, especially since Romney’s flips in the debate kinda put Ryan in a bad spot. The Tea Party will not take kindly if their favorite son backpedals….

     

Leave a Reply

 
