RSS

Trust?? — ummmm – No, Not So Much

16 Oct

This is amazing even to a jaded, cynical SOB like me.

 Public Policy Polling

October 16, 2012

Wide expectation of voter fraud in Presidential race

The election may be three weeks away but voters on both sides of the partisan divide are already prepared to blame voter fraud if their candidate loses.

PPP polls over the weekend found:

-In Ohio 62% of Republicans think Democrats will engage in voter fraud to make sure that Barack Obama wins. 50% of the Democrats think that the GOP will engage in voter fraud to ensure a Romney victory.

-In Florida 60% of Republicans think Democrats will engage in voter fraud to make sure that Barack Obama wins. 55% of the Democrats think that the GOP will engage in voter fraud to ensure a Romney victory.

-In North Carolina 69% of Republicans think Democrats will engage in voter fraud to make sure that Barack Obama wins. 51% of the Democrats think that the GOP will engage in voter fraud to ensure a Romney victory.

If it’s a close election it’s safe to say it’s going to get ugly.

Full results here

 
 

4 responses to “Trust?? — ummmm – No, Not So Much

  1. mhasegawa

    October 17, 2012 at 5:38 am

    It is already ugly (just look at the debate) and you are right about how ugly it will get if Obama wins re-election. Everyone will forget about the string of polls where Obama mostly led (Ohio), led or was close (Florida) and that so far, the only fraud has been on the part of the Republican consultant.

     
    • h2dog

      October 17, 2012 at 8:12 am

      I’m a liberal guy.
      Republican tactics and ideology sicken me.
      But in a practical sense, the thing that bothers me the most is the total lack of ANY cooperation between the two parties. (and yes,… despite this bullshit “both sides do it” stuff you constantly hear, I still see it as republicans creating 95% of any impass)
      Because I know that as long as that attitude prevails, this country goes nowhere but backwards. Economically and socially.
      And that sucks.

       
      • mhasegawa

        October 17, 2012 at 9:45 am

        I am one of those old ’60’s radicals myself. I have been thinking since I responded to you about what could possibly change to mke the situation better and so far I haven’t come up with anything… What scares me is that Obama was willing to make some compromises that would upset his base, but the Congressional Republicans didn’t want to play. Deep in my gut, I wonder if it has to do with race. If the President making the same offers were white, would there have been conpromise?

         
  2. h2dog

    October 17, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Yeah,… I meant it when I said it was 95% republican obstructionism.
    And anybody that tells you that race doesn’t play a part is blind. The only question is to what degree. There are a lot of times when I see it as being a major thing.
    I’m from a redneck, conservative area. I talk to my old friends that are still there. If we talk any politics, it’s inevitable that some negative connotations rear their head. (not all of them, but a substantial number)
    I fully believe that translates to a large part of the country in the GOP.
    (One of my favorite things to tell people is that until a couple of years ago, the last democrat to be elected as a representative in that area was Ulysees S Grant,… true)

     

Leave a Reply

 
