RSS

Cry Boycott! Let Loose the Dogs of Capitalism!

16 Nov

     I try to be at least somewhat socially conscious, when spending my money.  I avoid the likes of Walmart because I find them an awful organization, in the way they treat their employees, their effect on local communities, etc.  Yet I do shop with Amazon, which has a less than stellar track record, but are not approching the ‘evil’ threshold that a Walmart does in my eyes.  What I am saying is there is a pick and choose aspect to it for me. I have never been much for the boycott thing, because most of the time when a lefty boycott comes to the fore,  I don’t shop there anyway.  Chik-Fil-A … I stopped patronizing that joint ages ago when I became aware of the owners beliefs.  So the recent boycott – no problem.  If ya agree with them eat there, if you don’t then don’t.  And that’s pretty much how I look at it.

     This recent bit with the restaurant chain owners coming out against Obamacare … this really pisses me off.  I mean it is one thing to piss and moan about how much it is going to cost the companies (which isn’t a lot with respect to revenues), threaten to raise prices, or offshore (which they can’t do – HA!).  It is entirely another thing to say you are going to actively screw your employees in order to not have to comply with the law.  Papa John’s is the best example thus far.  The company has revenue in excess of $1.2 billion, yet they are going totally apeshit about having to pay $5-8 million a year to provide health care for their employees, a cost Forbes (no bastion of liberalism) has estimated would translate into an average price increase of a five cents per pizza.  Papa John’s response?  To screw their employees by cutting their hours so they don’t have to comply, rather than charge an extra 5 cents per pizza.  Seriously?!?  you are so rabidly capitalist and self absorbed you are going to screw your employees over 5 cents per pie? Over an amount that is about one half of one percent of your annual revenues? Because offering them health insurance is so awful?

     “Fuck you” is about all I can come up with … that and I am not going to be giving you one red cent for your crappy pizza.

     Now by no means is Papa John’s alone in this, they have just gotten the most press.  The chain restaurant industry in general has made similar rumblings: Denny’s, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Applebee’s.

     I ask that you think about where your restaurant dollars are spent, and that if you agree with my take, not to spend your money at these establishments.  Again this isn’t hard for me, I don’t eat at these restaurants anyway.  I choose to take my dinning out business to locally owned restaurants.  They tend to treat the workers better, have better food, better service, and my money stays around home – so I make an active decision to give them my business.  In Papa John’s case I am going to have to be a little more proactive.  I work at a university, and we have a Papa John’s right off of campus, so they get a lot of business in providing munchies for lectures and gatherings.  I will be talking to various people and organizations that sponsor talks and lectures to try and get them to refrain from buying their pizza.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 16, 2012 in Economy, Politics, Rant

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Cry Boycott! Let Loose the Dogs of Capitalism!

  1. Ajay Kaul

    November 16, 2012 at 3:15 pm

    Totally agree- businesses have become obsessed with increasing their margins at any cost. Historically they have anyways been passing all tax expenses to the consumers, so I am surprised why they are creating a big deal about this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
