RSS

I think David Atkins is right – This is Freedom

18 Apr

Found on Digby’s Blog.Β  From David Atkins.

You decide what freedom is –

 

I suppose one could say that everyone in this case had perfect freedom. The fertilizer plant owners had the freedom to run a plant without “big government” intrusion. The home builders had the freedom to sell their units wherever they saw fit to build. The home buyers had the freedom to assume irresponsibility on the part of the plant owner and the government, and take responsibility for themselves by not living near the plant. It was a conservative paradise of total economic liberty. No one could have foreseen what would happen. It was a tragedy. Instead of politicizing it, we should just pray for the victims. Wolverines.
 
25 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2013 in Economy, Education, Environment, Health, Politics

 

25 responses to “I think David Atkins is right – This is Freedom

  1. theminstrelscitadel

    April 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm

    You are too kind when you call them wolverines. Wolverines don’t need money and power, but evolution has made it so that parasites sure do.

     
  2. h2dog

    April 19, 2013 at 8:41 pm

    Minstrel….. well said. I’m pretty damned tired of money and profit calling all the shots.
    Although I know that won’t change. Tired doesn’t mean delusional. At least not yet,
    Just keep fighting the good fight.

     
    • theminstrelscitadel

      April 20, 2013 at 9:10 am

      It could change… I was at first quite heartened when the We Are The 99% movement started, and gained momentum. It was the first time in decades that the people in the center got angry enough to protest not only en masse but in cities all across the country. Perhaps if I’d had more faith in it I would have joined them, and other disillusioned armchair warriors would have, too? Painful to admit apathy…

       
  3. h2dog

    April 20, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    I had to think about it for a second,… but only a second.
    You’re right about the apathy. No matter how much I try to tell myself that I’m on the right side, in the end it doesn’t mean much unless you turn it into action.
    And I don’t. I just practice my values in my immediate personal life. I don’t force things much farther than that. Helps, but not near enough.
    I agree that it COULD change. I like what I see in general from young people. I think it’s getting harder to turn them into narcissistic (sp?) bastards.
    I remain skeptical, though. As always.
    Meet the new boss. The same as the old boss.

     
    • theminstrelscitadel

      April 21, 2013 at 3:11 pm

      Love that tune. A contribution to the soundtrack of my youth. If I could I would let music speak for me, always. It sounds so much better than my New York nasal…
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1wg1DNHbNU Talking Heads: Once In A Lifetime
      Same as it ever was. Same as it ever was. Same as it ever was.

       
    • theminstrelscitadel

      April 21, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      LOL I just noticed that you’re originally from upstate. I’m a former Long Islander who escaped West as soon as I could.

       
  4. h2dog

    April 21, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    Yep…. thousand islands area. I’ve been back and forth between there and the southwest up until the last 15 years or so.
    Now, I find that I virtually can’t stand the place. The redneck is strong up there, my friend. Still SOME good people, buuuutttttt…….
    And of course, I’ve come to prefer the sunshine much more than the weeks of overcast and rain or snow.
    I see we have the same taste in music. Now,– if you’re a Neil Young fan, we’re friends for life.

     
  5. theminstrelscitadel

    May 8, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Yep, I’m a Neil Young fan, but a selective one…. I’ve owned Decade for ummmm decades… Comes A Time will always be my favorite… I really can’t say that I’ve listened to many of his other albums, though. Love CSNY, of course. Joni Mitchell. Todd Rundgren. Patty Smith. Yes. Bruce Cockburn.
    So, Thousand Islands area, eh? Had no idea where that is in NY so I had to Google it. You weren’t kidding when you said Northern New York. Besides Long Island, I lived in Ithaca for a couple of years. That was as far “upstate” as I’d gone. As for rednecks, they are everywhere!
    I’m going to start posting more music; you’ll have to give me your feedback. And send some recommendations my way… I’m always looking for new artists/new music to check out.

     
  6. h2dog

    May 9, 2013 at 10:24 am

    I bought Decade for the first time in the late 70s in Houston. I’m betting it’s the most listened to music I’ve ever owned. CSN … I’ve seen them live probably 7 or 8 times, (I lose track). In Rochester, Houston, Phoenix, Albuquerque, Santa Fe, …. you get the picture.
    I’m not on this thing as much these days, but I’ll make it a point to go see what you’re putting up.
    As far as suggestions, anybody who hasn’t heard Arcade Fire’s “Wake Up” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5OmMPaLmxKg ) or “My Body is a Cage” ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKujuu6SpYA ) is missing out. Are you familiar?
    If the time frame was right, we very well could have passed each other on the street, or sat next to each other in a bar, in Ithaca. A good friend went to Ithaca College, and I spent a whole bunch of very fuzzy time there. Although we didn’t go down into town much. And Cornell’s campus is absolutely beautiful. Those old buildings with all that character, … and that spectacular gorge, is impossible to forget.

     
    • theminstrelscitadel

      May 9, 2013 at 5:03 pm

      Wow, that was a stroll down memory lane! I was in Ithaca… I think it was late 80’s, not quite 1990. I didn’t have the cash or the creds to get into Cornell- I went to TC3 in Dryden. (Tompkins Cortland Community College) I was a relatively new lesbian back then so I was familiar with many a bar stool and many a dance floor, although I can’t remember the name of a single bar in that town… Not too memorable, I suppose. I will, however, always remember those bumper stickers, “Ithaca is gorge-ous”. πŸ™‚ Haha.
      You were lucky to have seen CSN in concert, I never got to, I’m afraid. Would’ve LOVED to… But I’ve seen the Moody Blues m-a-n-y times, if that counts for anything.
      I’m going to check out those videos you mentioned, because, no, I am not familiar with Arcade Fire!! Excited about checking out some new music!
      Don’t give up on WordPress just yet… It’s really a pain in the ass (for me), I have a hard time negotiating the site, but it’s been nice to find a like-minded person on here. I find that Twitter is way easier to deal with, but I’m determined to at least try this blog for awhile. Although It does get disheartening when you post stuff and nobody is paying attention- that’s the sort of ridiculous dejection I felt on Facebook for awhile there. What made me jump from FB (where at least I had friends and family to ignore me) to a blog site where I’m about as noticeable as a grain of sand at the bottom of the ocean I’ll never understand… :=D I may have to resort to changing my blog name to something really insulting and outrageous to grab some attention. On second thought, no.

       
  7. theminstrelscitadel

    May 9, 2013 at 5:10 pm

    it’s so fitting that you would direct me to a Candadian band (Arcade Fire)… I’m drawn to Canadian artists like a moth to a flame and have never understood why…

     
  8. h2dog

    May 9, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    My first question will be…. how did you like Arcade Fire? I love those two songs, could listen to them over and over. (and I do) Funny,… they’re based in Montreal, but the lead singer and his brother are from Houston. That always seemed weird. Texans moved to Montreal to pursue their music. Go figure.
    I’ll write a little more later.

     
    • theminstrelscitadel

      May 9, 2013 at 6:55 pm

      I liked Arcade Fire- especially Wake Up. Their sound reminds me a bit of In-Flight Safety, Do you know them?

       
  9. h2dog

    May 9, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    I’ve seen the Moody Blues a bunch of times myself. Always worth the price of admission. Justin Hayward gets better with age.
    Ithaca IS gorge-ous! πŸ™‚ Buttermilk Falls too. Remember? Although you have to be out west to get the really dramatic spectacular stuff. The north rim of the Grand Canyon is my all-time favorite place. I highly recommend. The Sandia mountains just outside my door ain’t bad either.
    And I could drive around Southern Utah/northern Arizona for months and not be bored.

     
    • theminstrelscitadel

      May 9, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      Haven’t been to the Grand Canyon yet. 😦 My honey and I have wanted to go for years but we keep adopting cats… We’re up to 6 now and they’re expensive little critters to kennel for a vacation. They’re just going to have to deal with our absence one of these days or we’ll never leave the house again!
      You know, I love the West but I am so homesick for deep green things and water. NOT ticks and mosquitoes, but deep GREEN things and moisture. And, of course, those Autumn colors!!!!!!!!!!!!!

       
  10. h2dog

    May 9, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    I’ve never heard of On Flight Safety. I’ll take a look. Any specific songs or CDs?
    My next suggestion, (and then I’ll lay off for a while) would be a local artist from the Taos Pueblo, Robert Mirabal. He had a modicum of success nationally some time back, but not as much as I think he deserved. Find “Songs From a Painted Cave” on youtube,… and my personal favorite is titled “The Dance”. But there are a few that are very good — a different sound.
    The only advice I give to people is that they should take the extra time and effort to go to the north rim of the canyon. It’s waayyyyy more out of the way,… over 200 extra miles, I think. But it only gets about 10% of the traffic that the south rim gets because of that. Maybe I’ll get you a picture or two somehow.
    I get it about the green and the moisture and missing it,… I really do. But I just accept the tradeoff for the bright sunshine most of the time, and not fighting the snow and cold. Moderate climate here in the high desert around Albuquerque.

     
  11. theminstrelscitadel

    June 22, 2013 at 10:00 am

    I almost went to Alb last November to visit a friend but had to cancel the trip due to a very sick kitty. I’ll get there someday. A friend and I took a trip to Santa Fe decades ago- over the Christmas holiday. Bad planning that was. Drove at night from Boulder to get down there so saw nothing on the way. Arrived on Christmas Day and the only thing open was a McDonald’s. Stayed for only another day and drove back to Boulder in the dark again. Nothing too memorable there….

     
    • h2dog

      June 22, 2013 at 10:21 am

      That’s too bad, … there really are some spectacular things to see. And a lot of things that are just kinda nice.
      But, you can get that fixed sometime. I highly recommend northern New Mexico/southern Colorado/northern Az./southern Utah as a trip place. You may have to go a good distance between amazing sights,… because it is at times a sort of moonscape. But good stuff is there in those out-of-the-way places.
      Santa Fe, —- they call it the city different for a reason. Great place, and one of the most progressive spots you’ll ever find. Socially, and as a community period.
      So how are things for you?

       
      • theminstrelscitadel

        June 22, 2013 at 2:03 pm

        Doing alright, really. The squirrels and I are in a heated battle over my growing zucchini. This is the first time I’ve tried growing them, and the squirrels have decided they like them as much as I do. Dammit. Other than that, work, sleep, work, sleep, bitch, moan and kavetch. And you?

         
      • h2dog

        June 22, 2013 at 2:57 pm

        Kavetch,…. never hear that anymore, (not that I heard it all that much in northern NY either),….
        Same old,same old here in Alb. hot as hell, lots of sun, no rain, … heard this morning that we’re experiencing the worst drought conditions statewide of anyplace in the country. Something like 90% of the state is in a severe drought condition.
        Means more wildfires, more water restrictions, constant heat,…. everything a growing boy needs.
        Water WILL be the issue within a decade or so. (it’s the issue now really, but not enough people paying attention.)
        Other than that, I’m happy not to be in NYS. (although a little jealous when I see Lake Ontario or St. Lawrence River pics)
        Don’t let the squirrels win

         
      • theminstrelscitadel

        June 22, 2013 at 6:53 pm

        Water is absolutely the issue. Every time I see people watering their thirsty lawns at 4:30pm on a hot sunny day I want to throttle the homeowner. Every time I see people letting the water gush out of the tap while they’re busy talking I want to wrap the faucet around their head. Sorry, it makes me a wee bit angry… I say outlaw lawns in the arid West. What the hell do we need grass for anyway? You can’t eat it. Sure it’s nice to walk through in your bare feet, but we certainly don’t need vast acreage of useless green, do we?. If you absolutely have to have grass then make it a little patch about 10′ x 10′ and have at, right? Wow, I bet you didn’t know you were pouring salt in a wound, did you? I’ll get over it. I do my part and I make sure the people around me do, too. πŸ™‚

         
      • h2dog

        June 22, 2013 at 7:32 pm

        No need to warn me off. You’re preaching to the choir. I grew up 7 miles away from one of the Great Lakes. About 20 miles from the St. Lawrence River. Outside a town called
        Watertown. πŸ™‚
        Buuttttt,…. we had a dug well. Good water in the fall, winter, and spring. But almost always dried up in the summer. (my father drilled 4 different times on our property to try to find a vein,… they were all around us,…. but the poor guy had no luck with it)
        So we had a thousand gal tank that we drew water to fill in the summer.
        I had water conservation drilled into my somewhat thick skull all of my early life.
        Drives me nuts when I see waste. Especially out here where it’s much, much more meaningful.
        What’s new,… some people are d-bags and don’t care, and others just don’t think about it.
        With the change in climate though, it’ll be forced on them sooner than they think. And it won’t be pretty.

         
      • theminstrelscitadel

        June 22, 2013 at 8:25 pm

        I live in Denver. The city of Aurora, to the East of us, is an ever expanding universe of single family homes, car washes and pleas for more water. They mandated grass in new housing developments- to the astonishment of all.

         
      • h2dog

        June 22, 2013 at 9:05 pm

        I like Denver. Been once or twice.
        But it sounds like the city fathers in Albuquerque and Santa Fe have their counterparts beat on the conservation thing.
        I’ve been here 20 yrs, and improvements have been great. But, a long way to go. I think I mentioned before that they underestimated, (badly apparently), the rescourses in the aquifer below us, and they’ve been taking more city water from the Rio Grande in the last few years. But that poor river gets the life-blood sucked out of it just about every mile of the almost 2000 it runs to the gulf. With the lack of rain and snow melt, …. well, they call it a river. I call it a creek.
        The powers have to get their acts together soon, or…..
        Keep kicking butt up there. People will have to get it eventually. I hope.

         
  12. h2dog

    June 22, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    Minstrel….. Where are you located? (nothing specific, just state)
    I don’t remember your telling me? Did I just space it?

     

Leave a Reply

 
